The Future of Computing is Female

The Kentucky Girls STEM Collaborative is proud to announce the 2019 NCWIT Award for AiC Kentucky state recipients, honoring 29 women in high school from 17 counties. An annual awards ceremony, held in conjuncture with the STLP State Championships on April 18th, honored the record number of Kentucky high schoolers and educators with a trophy presentation, speed mentoring and networking sessions. To foster this year’s high school recipients into the KY NCWIT community, the young women were provided a sheet of business cards to exchange with one another and the representatives in attendance.

Each year, KY high school women in grades 9 through 12 are eligible to receive recognition for their demonstrated interest and achievements in computing, proven leadership ability, academic performance, and plans for post‑secondary education. Educators supporting student applications are eligible for NCWIT AiC Educator awards.

Thanks to the generous support of NCWIT Award for AiC sponsors, each of the award winners receive various prizes in a swag bag and a trophy recognizing their achievements. View photos from the ceremony and a full list of winners below.


State Winners

Heaven Charles, Belfry High School
Sarah Cooper*, LaRue Co. High School
Jada Hunter-Hays*, LaRue Co. High School
Lottie Maynard*, Rowan Co. Senior High School
Sierra Potts, Lincoln Co. High School
Meghan Ratliff, Johnson Central High School
Mina Ryumae*, Larry A. Ryle High School
Aditi Tarkar, Ballard High School


National Honorable Mention

Educator Awardees


Katherine Booth, Scott Co. High School




KY NCWIT Honorable Mention
Laura Moore, duPont Manual High School

State Honorable Mentions and Rising Stars


KY NCWIT Honorable Mentions

Shreeya Arora, duPont Manual High School
Jeanna Endicott, Belfry High School
Claire Gregory, Beechwood High School
Sydney Glenn, Scott Co. High School
Marlee Henson, Burgin. High School
Delaney Hetzer, Russell High School
Victoria Kirby, Lee Co. High School
Katherine Massey, LaRue Co. High School
Genevieve McWilliams, Lincoln Co. High School
Jay Tucker, Campbellsville High School





Giselle Adams, LaRue Co. High School
Kayla Brewer, Lee Co. High School
Whitley Bryant, Monroe Co. High School
Audrey Engle, LaRue Co. High School
Morgan Hinkle, Lee Co. High School
Raylee Ghaner, Bulliitt East High School
Stephanie Mays, Lee Co. High School
Emily Rogers, Campbellsville High School
Hannah Ross, Lee Co. High School
Mckayla Spencer, Lee Co. High School
Ranelle Ulanday, Randall K. Cooper High School


Eva Bradshaw

Regional Affiliate Manager for the NCWIT Aspirations in Computing Award and the ceremony’s keynote speaker

Elizabeth Farnsworth

Kentucky State Coordinator for the NCWIT Aspirations in Computing Awards and KY Girls STEM Collaborative Leadership Team Member